The Southern Bookseller Review 10/10/23

The Southern Bookseller Review Newsletter for the week of October 10, 2023

View Online | Unsubscribe | SBR Archive | SUBSCRIBE TO SBR


ad

ad

The Southern Bookseller Review: A Book for Every Reader

facebook 
twitter 
instagram 

The week of October 10, 2023

Why you should read this book (in twenty-five words or less).

Book Stack Art by Yana Lobenko

Zinger one-line reviews that will make you want to pick up the book!

West Heart Kill by Dann McDorman
Perfect read for anyone who’s ever tried to make a book club meeting into a college English Lit seminar and been rebuffed. Ha! –Kat Leache, Novel. in Memphis, Tennessee

The Comfort of Crows by Margaret Renkl
Reading this was like walking through a dreamy natural wonderland. –Rachel Randolph, Parnassus Books in Nashville, Tennessee

Unholy Terrors by Lyndall Clipstone
For fans of Crimson Peak and Labyrinth and every dark, haunted thing that deserves to be kissed and killed and brought back again. –Caitlyn Vanorder, Bookmarks in Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Wildfire by Hannah Grace
Wildfire is an absolute cinnamon bon-bon of a novel. It’s delicious, sweet, with some heat. –Preet Singh, Eagle Eye Book Shop in Decatur, Georgia

Illusions in Art: Animals by Chiêu Anh Urban
There really couldn’t be a more perfect "sit in my lap and read" book than this! –Angie Tally, The Country Bookshop in Southern Pines, North Carolina

 


Read This Now
|
Read This Next
| Book Buzz |
The Bookseller Directory










Read This Now!

Recommended by Southern indies…

Starter Villain by John Scalzi


BUY THE BOOK

Starter Villain by John Scalzi

Tor Books / September 2023


More Reviews from Bookmiser

John Scalzi, you never cease to delight! This time, Scalzi lets us into the secret world of villains. Charlie’s not doing well. It doesn’t seem to be getting much better when his estranged uncle dies and wants him to preside over his wake. But when he comes home, he discovers that’s just the beginning. Soon, he’s deep into the underground world of supervillains, sentient, computer-using cats and dolphins who want to strike. This tongue-in-cheek fish out of water scifi story will keep you laughing!

Reviewed by Jennifer Jones, Bookmiser in Marietta, Georgia








Bookseller Buzz

ad

Spotlight on: There Was a Party for Langston by Jason Reynolds

Jason Reynolds, photo credit Adedayo 'Dayo' Kosoko

By that time (middle school), I had already discovered poetry, but [was also] reading rap lyrics at home and making the connection. I’m figuring out very young that these things are very much the same, and they’re being talked about differently and they’re being contextualized differently and they’re being sensationalized in different ways. But as far as I’m concerned, in my 10-year-old brain, these things are exactly the same. Tupac’s “Dear Mama” and Langston Hughes’ “Mother to Son” could very well be a response to the other.

You start digging through Langston Hughes’s work, and you realize, man, this is the best way to begin a life in letters. To write something that feels simple, one must be extraordinarily talented. On the totem of my ancestors, I choose for him to be there.
― Jason Reynolds, Interview, People Magazine

What booksellers are saying about There Was a Party for Langston (a Read This Next! Title)


There Was a Party for Langston by Jason Reynolds

  • This is a stunning picture book — Jason Reynolds has a way with words that maybe no one has had SINCE Langston Hughes. Poetic yet approachable; his style is unique. The illustrations by Pumphrey make Reynolds’ words dance, jump, and soar on the pages as you go through a story that is in part bio, part resistance, part celebration of a man whose contributions to literature are still reverberating all these years later.
      ― Jamie Southern, Bookmarks in Winston-Salem, NC | Buy from Bookmarks

  • The text and illustrations sing in harmony in the beautiful picture book.
      ― Rae Ann Parker from Parnassus Books in Nashville, TN | Buy from Parnassus Books

  • There was a hoopla in Harlem. A whizbanger for the wordmakers. A chance for those he loved to celebrate Langston and now, young readers can celebrate that the joy of Langston Hughes through the verse of Jason Reynolds and the vision of Jerome and Jarret Pumphrey in this must have new picture book.
      ― Angie Tally from The Country Bookshop in Southern Pines, NC | Buy from The Country Bookshop

About Jason Reynolds

Read This Next!

Jason Reynolds is a #1 New York Times bestselling author, a Newbery Award Honoree, a Printz Award Honoree, a two-time National Book Award finalist, a Kirkus Award winner, a UK Carnegie Medal winner, a two-time Walter Dean Myers Award winner, an NAACP Image Award Winner, an Odyssey Award Winner and two-time honoree, the recipient of multiple Coretta Scott King honors, and the Margaret A. Edwards Award. He was also the 2020–2022 National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature. His many books include All American Boys (cowritten with Brendan Kiely); When I Was the GreatestThe Boy in the Black SuitStampedAs Brave as YouFor Every One; the Track series (Ghost, Patina, Sunny, and Lu); Look Both WaysStuntboy, in the MeantimeAin’t Burned All the Bright (recipient of the Caldecott Honor) and My Name Is Jason. Mine Too. (both cowritten with Jason Griffin); and Long Way Down, which received a Newbery Honor, a Printz Honor, and a Coretta Scott King Honor. He lives in Washington, DC. You can find his ramblings at JasonWritesBooks.com.

Jerome Pumphrey is a designer, illustrator, and writer. His work includes It’s a Sign!Somewhere in the BayouThe Old Boat, and The Old Truck, which received seven starred reviews, was named a Best Book of the Year by Publishers Weekly, and received the Ezra Jack Keats Writer Award Honor—all of which he created with his brother Jarrett. They also illustrated Jason Reynolds’s There Was a Party for Langston. Jerome works as a graphic designer at The Walt Disney Company. He lives in Texas.

Jarrett Pumphrey is an award-winning author-illustrator who makes books for kids with his brother, Jerome. Their books include It’s a Sign!Somewhere in the BayouThe Old Boat, and The Old Truck, which received seven starred reviews, was named a Best Book of the Year by Publishers Weekly, and received the Ezra Jack Keats Writer Award Honor. They also illustrated Jason Reynolds’s There Was a Party for Langston. Jarrett lives near Austin, Texas.


ad


Other Birds by Sarah Addison Allen

BUY THE BOOKBUY THE AUDIOBOOK

Other Birds by Sarah Addison Allen

 St. Martin’s Griffin / September 2023



More Reviews from Flyleaf Books

This book was made for autumn. A community who clings to ghosts, unable to move on, stuck in their grief, comes together in such a lovely way with the introduction of a new resident. Revisiting this brought such a warmth to my heart, and is one I’ll keep in my back pocket for quiet days.

Reviewed by Jamie Kovacs, Flyleaf Books in Chapel Hill, North Carolina






How to Say Babylon by Safiya Sinclair

BUY THE BOOKBUY THE AUDIOBOOK

How to Say Babylon by Safiya Sinclair

 Simon & Schuster / October 2023



More Reviews from Book No Further

This is the best book I’ve read this year, certainly one of the best books I’ve ever read. Sinclair is a poet’s writer who also delivers a thriller, a fascinating history of her religion and country and a call to social justice all at the same time. Vivid imagery, elegance and brilliance are on every page. Please don’t miss this!

Lisa Uotinen from Book No Further in Roanoke, Virginia

True True by Don P. Hooper

BUY THE BOOKBUY THE AUDIOBOOK

True True by Don P. Hooper

Nancy Paulsen Books / August 2023



More Reviews from E. Shaver, bookseller

I loved this book. Once I started, I couldn’t put it down. I couldn’t wait to find out how Gil’s story would unfold. I loved the way Gil used Sun Tzu’s The Art of War as a guide to help him navigate the often hostile world at his new, mostly white prep school. It kept the plot moving enticingly and kept me wondering what his next step would be. But ultimately, it was his deep connections to his family, his friends, and his community that made this book sing for me. Wonderful!

Reviewed by Ruth Goldstein, E. Shaver Bookseller in Savannah, Georgia


10 Dogs by Emily Gravett

BUY THE BOOK

10 Dogs by Emily Gravett

Boxer Books, / September 2023



More Reviews from The Little Bookshop

Words almost aren’t needed in this hilarious and wonderfully illustrated book about ten dogs who have their eyes on ten sausages on a table. Will they be able to resist? Of course not! And that is how all the crazy fun starts.

Reviewed by Mary Patterson, The Little Bookshop in Midlothian, Virginia

Curlfriends: New in Town (A Graphic Novel) by Sharee Miller

BUY THE BOOK

Curlfriends: New in Town (A Graphic Novel) by Sharee Miller
Little, Brown Ink / October 2023



More Reviews from Bookmarks

Charlie is the new girl at school and making friends has not been easy for her. She wants to make new friends and be cool so she tries to be someone she’s not and makes a mess of things. I love the message in this book to always be your true authentic self and you will find your people. The illustrations are adorable and I love the all black cast. Great read!

Reviewed by Keeshia Jacklitch, Bookseller, Bookmarks in Winston-Salem, North Carolina



Decide for Yourself

Books that appear on PEN America’s list of challenged books.

Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jacksonl

BUY THE BOOKBUY THE AUDIOBOOK

Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson
Katherine Tegen Books / April 2021


More Reviews from Bookmarks

Monday’s Not Coming is a heartbreaking story of a missing teenager, a community that seems not to notice, and a best friend who will go to whatever lengths it takes to find her missing friend. Tiffany D. Jackson weaves the reader through multiple timelines with increasing tension and emotion until you reach an ending that will haunt you long after you finished the book. This is a difficult but important and timely story highly recommended for teen and adult readers.

Reviewed by Beth Seufer Buss, Bookmarks in Winston-Salem, North Carolina


Southern Bestsellers

What’s popular this week with Southern Readers.




The Caretaker
Democracy Awakening
The Court of Mist and Fury



Braiding Sweetness
Something, Someday


[ See the full list ]






Parting Thought

“Beware of the person of one book.”

— Thomas Aquinas

Publisher:
The Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance
/
siba@sibaweb.com

Editor: Nicki Leone /

nicki@sibaweb.com
Advertising: Linda-Marie Barrett /
lindamarie@sibaweb.com

The Southern Bookseller Review is a project of the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance, in support of independent bookstores in the South | SIBA | 51 Pleasant Ridge Drive | Asheville, NC 28805

SIBA | 51 Pleasant Ridge Drive | Asheville, NC 28805
You have received this email because you are currently subscribed to receive The Southern Bookseller Review.
Please click @@unsubscribe_url@@ if you no longer wish to receive these communications.

Scroll to Top